Sqlroadtrip – Half Way Point


I am now at the half-way stage of my round the world trip (see part 1, part 2 and part 3).

After part 3 I went on from Kuala Lumpur to Perth. This time I flew with Singapore Airlines – an extremely good airline as far as I am concerned, the entire experience was positive. I had a short hop from Kuala Lumpur to Sinpagore and then a 5 hours flight to Perth.

There was a mix-up at my company regarding the data transport, so I arrived a full 24 hours too early in Perth. I finally caught up on some of the missing sleep – I slept a full 18 hours!

The data finally arrived and I got to work at the Perth office. The installation ran without any issues (we’ve got the rollout totally sorted by now) and even managed to do a little more testing of the performance improvements of running readonly reporting on the local server. Who would have thought it, a server in the LAN is faster than a server over WAN!!! 😀

I only saw the hotel (Esplanade in Fremantle), the office and a micro-brewery pub (The Mad Monk in Fremantle). This was the shortest stop of all so far, but I was more than happy to take that hit to allow me to have some “real” free time in New Zealand.

I arrived in Auckland this morning after an uneventful flight from Perth to Auckland. I spent the day exploring the city and adding to the photo collection. I will hopefully be meeting up with Dave Dustin (Twitter) for lunch tomorrow before jumping on my longest flight so far – Auckland to Los Angeles to Calgary. The first leg is over 10000 km and 12 hours, luckily in Premium Economy flying with Air New Zealand – a little extra legroom is always nice.

So, time for bed, the day starts early with me trying to take part in the PoSh webcast held by Aaron Nelson (Web|twitter) for the UK Sout West User Group. That’ll mean a 5am start, but my brain is scattered from timezone-hopping anyway.

2 thoughts on “Sqlroadtrip – Half Way Point

  1. Pingback: The Home Stretch « William Durkin's Blog

  2. Pingback: SQLRoadtrip, part the 6th « William Durkin's Blog

Leave a Reply

